Florida Traffic Laws
- The first time someone is caught driving with a suspended license in Florida, he or she could be fined up to $500 and 60 days in jail.
- The consequences of driving with a suspended license in Florida for a second time may result in a first-degree misdemeanor criminal charge. This offense could be punishable to one year in jail.
- Driving with a suspended license for a third time could result to a felony criminal charge that may include up to a $5000 fine and up to five years in prison. If the person is caught driving for a third time within a five year period, he or she will be labeled as a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO). This classification could create much difficulty obtaining even a hardship license until a year has passed since their most recent charge.
Review the 2019 Florida Statutes
Failure to Appear Warrants
Traffic tickets in Palm Beach county must be paid according to the instructions on the citation. If you choose to plead not guilty, you must appear at the court hearing to dispute the violation. When someone doesn’t pay a traffic ticket by its due date or doesn’t show up for his or her court date to fight the ticket, a bench warrant is typically issued.
How to Deal with a Bench Warrant
The best way to deal with a warrant is to turn yourself into the jail with the help of a local bondsman and the process will be much more pleasant than waiting to be found by law enforcement.
In Palm Beach County, Bail Bonds Now will help to clear a warrant between the hours of 9am and 5pm only any day of the week. Simply text or call a bail bondsman at (561)-500-9999to schedule an appointment.